Two Sisters+Classic Hollywood=One Hell Of A Good Time

Liebster Award!

Margaret Perry over at http://thegreatkh.blogspot.co.uk/ has given me a Liebster Award! YAY! :D The Liebster is given to up-and-coming blogs of 200 followers or less. If you are reading this, Margaret, thank you so much for the honor! So, if you receive a Liebster Award, you must share eleven facts about yourself, answer eleven questions from the blogger who awarded you, and award eleven bloggers of your choice! Here we go:

Eleven Facts About Moi:

1. All of my fingers are double-jointed. I’m like some sort of weird finger contortionist.

2. I’m a voracious reader. My all-time favorite book is Les Miserables by Victor Hugo.

3. I think peacocks are the most beautiful, fabulous animals in the entire world.

4. My biggest goal is to travel the world. I hope to study abroad for winter intercession next year in either England, France, or Australia!

5. I’ve always loved cartoons, and I still do! My favorites were (and still are) Tom and Jerry, Merrie Melodies, Mickey Mouse, and Looney Tunes. I also love the classic Disney films.

6. I confess I have a strange fascination with the occult and the unknown. I love learning about that stuff.

7. The things I notice first in a guy are his eyes (I love light-colored eyes, blue being my favorite) and his smile.

8. I was originally left-handed, but I was forced to switch to right.

9. My favorite fruit is the clementine, which is quite unfortunate since they’re in season only during the winter :(

10. My favorite band is Queen. Queen has gotten me through a lot of difficulties!

11. All my clothes have to: 1) have a vintage flair 2) have at least a dash of sparkle. My latest purchase was a black velvet dress with a gold glitter star pattern from Topshop. It sparkles more than the sun or the stars. Best shopping decision I’ve ever made!

Margaret’s Questions:

If you could matchmake two of your favorite stars, who would be your OTP?
Hmmm…so many possibilities come to mind! But I think my OTP (one true pair) would be Myrna Loy and William Powell. Every time I watch them in a film I find myself begging them to get married and have babies already. Or Jean Harlow and Clark Gable, those two make sparks on the screen!

What classic movie would you like to see remade?
None. Modern remakes have a funny way of messing up beloved originals.

What is your favorite film genre, and what are your three favorite films in that genre?
My favorite film genre is the screwball comedy! My favorite screwballs are It Happened One Night, Arsenic and Old Lace, and To Be Or Not To Be.

You have the opportunity to share one classic film with a theatre full of your friends. Which film do you choose?
Gone with the Wind, most definitely!

What one actor/actress do you love so much, you would see a film simply because they are in it?
Clark Gable! I’ve sat through some really shitty films (LIKE THE PAINTED DESERT) just to look at Gabe’s perfect face.

What/who is your favorite animal character from a movie?
I love Asta from The Thin Man series. That dog is such a boss.

What years do you consider to define the era of “classic movies”?
This is a great, hotly disputed question, and as Margaret implies, the answer varies from person to person. I personally consider the classic movie era to be from around 1905-ish to 1960.

Astaire or Kelly? Audrey or Katherine? Bette or Joan? Olivia de Havilland or Joan Fontaine? Buster Keaton or Charlie Chaplin?
Astaire or Kelly: love them both with all my heart and soul, but I think I will go with Kelly here. It was a close shave, though!
Audrey or Katharine: Easy. Kate the Great of course! I might get crucified for this, but I CAN’T STAND Audrey Hepburn. The most overrated actress who ever lived, if you ask me.
Bette or Joan: I love Bette, but Joan wins this. Sorry Bette, but Joan is my homeslice for life.
Olivia de Havilland or Joan Fontaine: Livvy is my fave sister. She’s an amazing talent and a delight to watch on the screen. From what I’ve seen of Joan Fontaine’s work, she seems a lot more…forced…than her sister. Just look at the faces she makes in Rebecca and you’ll see what I mean.

Who is your favorite Barrymore?
My fave Barrymore is definitely Lionel. He’s like an old cuddly teddy bear! Who seriously knows how to act.

What is your favorite silent movie? Who is your favorite silent movie star?
Oh geez, this is a toughie. I’m gonna bend the rules here and give two favorite silent movies: Metropolis and The Cabinet of Doctor Caligari. I’m gonna bend the rules again with my favorite silent stars: Clara Bow and Rudolph Valentino.

If you could spend one day with your favorite star, who would it be and what would you do?
I’d spend the day with the lovely Clark Gable and we would tour Hollywood together and visit all of his favorite places there :)

Now I shall award eleven of my favorite blogs (that meet the qualifications) for a Liebster Award! You guys have to list eleven facts about yourself, answer the eleven questions I give you, and award eleven other blogs with the Award! Congratulations to:

All Good Things http://poohtiger-allgoodthings.blogspot.com/

Classicfilmboy’s Movie Paradise http://www.classicfilmboy.com/

Dear Old Hollywood http://dearoldhollywood.blogspot.com/

Deep Glamour http://deepglamour.net/

Critica Retro http://criticaretro.blogspot.com/

Gone with the Wind Fansite http://gwtwfansite.weebly.com/

Marlene Dietrich Collection http://marlene-dietrichcollection.blogspot.fr/

The Hollywood Revue http://hollywoodrevue.wordpress.com/

Alexander’s Sanctuary http://alexandersanctuary.wordpress.com/

The Kitty Packard Pictorial http://kittypackard.com/

Old Hollywood Glamour http://oldhollywoodglamour.blogspot.com/

My Questions:

1. If you could have a dinner party with seven classic film stars, who would they be?

2. Who is your favorite classic movie director?

3. Who is your favorite most-underrated actor?

4. Have you ever watched a film in which you had NO IDEA what was going on?

5. Who is your favorite Hollywood costume designer?

6. Who is an actor/actress that you would take out of one film and put into a different one?

7. Do you mix up any classic movie actors/actresses.

8. Favorite movie musical?

9. Have you hated an actor/actress whom you now love?

10. What is your favorite performance that was overlooked by an Oscar?

11. What is your most-quoted film?

And if you don’t have a blog and just want to answer the questions, please feel free to do so in the comments! X

7 responses

  1. Fantastic answers! And love that all your fingers are double jointed – what a cool party trick. Thanks for participating!

    November 18, 2012 at 10:06 am

    • Thanks! I had tons of fun doing it :)

      November 22, 2012 at 8:16 pm

  2. Le

    Nice answers! I also love carttons until today.
    Thanks a lot for giving me the award. Since my blog has more than 200 followers and also received a Liebster a while ago, I’m thinking about showcasing the Liebster also in the blog, but answer the questions and choose 11 receivers on Tumblr, that also has Liebster going on. How about?
    Kisses!

    November 19, 2012 at 3:07 pm

    • howdy Carole: stand by for my upcoming post on those 11 questions. i haven’t got enough time to post it up now but i will pretty soon. :-)

      November 20, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    • That’s a great idea!
      xxxx

      November 22, 2012 at 8:17 pm

  3. hello again, Carole, and happy thanksgiving to you and yours. i have finally done my Liebster award questions post. be sure to check it out. thanks and god bless. :-)

    November 22, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    • Happy Thanksgiving, Alex! :D I hope you had a great time with your family and that you ate a lot of turkey! I will read your answers ASAP, I know they will be great :) God bless!

      November 22, 2012 at 8:18 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 99 other followers